25
Mar
05

The splash and breaking initscripts

Yesterday I spent a good few hours on chasing a bug related to the new splashutils. For quite some time my qmail and svscan have been misbehaving on my system. svscan seemed to start properly, but when I logged in, the process was dead and had to be manually restarted. After that everything worked fine. It turns out this kind of problems is caused by adding CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 to the kernel command line. So far I have discovered two services which cause trouble — hddtemp and svscan. I’ve opened bugs for both of them (#86550, #86562) and added info about the issue to the gensplash troubleshooting section on my devsite. Hopefully this will save others from the trouble I had with fixing this problem.

0 Responses to “The splash and breaking initscripts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

